The jury

A distinguished jury of experts from the fields of medicine, sport, nutrition, psychology and health care judge and assess the projects that are submitted, on the basis of the school marking system (5 grades from "very good" to "unsatisfactory").

Each member of the jury assesses all the projects. The three best projects in the categories Companies, Municipalities/Cities and Educational Institutions are nominated.

The winner of the "Healthy Living Prize for Europe" is chosen from all three categories by an internationally esteemed jury, while the two winners in each category (for the whole of Austria and for Lower Austria) are chosen by an Austrian jury.

These are the members of the jury whom you need to impress with your entry:


Prof. Helmut Brand

Head of the Department of International Health at the University of Maastricht.
Professor of European Public Health.

Michael Dejozé

Managing Director of Euregio Maas-Rhein.

Dr. Karl-Heinz Feldhoff

Head of the Department of Health for Heinsberg district (until 31/10/2017).
Chairman of the Board of the euPrevent|EMR Foundation.

Prof. Gerald Gartlehner, MPH

Head of the Department for Evidence-based Medicine and Clinical Epidemiology at the Danube University Krems, Director of Cochrane Austria.


Assoc. Prof. Andrea Dungl-Zauner

Head of the Clinical Institute for Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Krems University Hospital.

Head of the Centre for Traditional Chinese Medicine & Complementary Medicine at the Danube University in Krems.
Head of Therapy at the Dungl Centre, Vienna.

Dr. Gabriele Freynhofer

Doctor in General Medicine, state schools doctor for Lower Austria.

Dr. Johann Jäger

Doctor in General Medicine, former Vice-President of the Medical Council of Lower Austria/Chairman of the Professional Association of Established Doctors.

Prof. Dr. Rotraud A. Perner

Psychoanalyst and Lawyer
Head of the Institute for Stress Prevention & Salutogenesis

Dr. Johannes Püspök

Medical Director of the Moorheilbad Harbach private clinic and Head of Science and Evaluation for the Lower Austrian Health and Social Fund (NÖGUS).

Prof. Anita Rieder

Vice-Rector for Teaching at the Medical University of Vienna.
Head of the Centre for Public Health at the Medical University of Vienna.

Dr. Klaus Ropin

Head of the Austrian Health Fund, Gesundheit Österreich GmbH.

Hanni Rützler

Expert in food trends, nutritionist, health psychologist.

Dr. Werner Schwarz

Sports scientist and technical writer, lecturer at the Institute of Sports Science at the University of Vienna and at the University of Applied Sciences Wiener Neustadt, Director of the Zehnergasse Federal Sports Grammar School in Wiener Neustadt.